

LOS ANGELES UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT Office of Parent and Community Services

DISTRICT ENGLISH LEARNER ADVISORY COMMITTEE (DELAC) OFFICER ELECTION NOTES 2020-2021

Office:	Parent & Community Services	Date: November 16, 2020			
Time:	2:00 p.m.	Location: Via Zoom Meeting Link			
Administrator Present: Dr. Danny Dixon & Antonio Plascencia, Jr.					
	(name)				

CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME

The meeting was called to order by <u>Dr. Danny Dixon</u>, Administrative Coordinator, PCS at <u>2:01 p.m.</u>

(name and title)

Antonio Plascencia, Jr., Director, PCS welcomed participants.

PUBLIC COMMENT

The floor for public comment opened at 2:16 p.m. The following members of the public made comments

Roberto Fonseca Juan Jose Mangandi Marcela Garcia (Vega)

AGENDA

The meeting agenda was reviewed by <u>Dr. Danny Dixon</u> at <u>2:25 p.m.</u>

ROLL-CALL

Dr. Heidi Mahmud called for member in attendance at 2:28 p.m. followed by the seating of alternate.

Dr. Heidi Mahmud confirmed that 39 voting members were present at 2:54 p.m.

CONTINUATION OF ELECTIONS

<u>Angie Cardenas</u> confirmed that following nominees who were nominated for the position of Parliamentarian on November 12 had returned and were in attendance at 2:56 p.m.:

Cecilio Lopez Orlando Rios Deyanira Hooper Jeannette Godina <u>Don Sherwyn</u> requested a point of order. He inquired if he could nominate himself for this position at this point since he had to leave the previous meeting at 4:15 p.m.

<u>Antonio Plascencia</u> reminded members that they needed to be in the room at the time nominations were made in order to run for the position, but also stopped the meeting to verify with the Robert's Rules of Order guidelines.

Meeting reopened at 3:10 p.m. to support the request.

<u>Don Sherwyn</u> motioned to reopen the floor for nominations for Parliamentarian. <u>Carolina Bugarin</u> seconded the motion. The floor was opened for discussion.

A Roll Call vote was taken on the motion to reopen nominations for Parliamentarian. $\underline{15}$ Yes $\underline{17}$ No $\underline{7}$ Abstentions The motion failed at $\underline{3:25}$ p.m. Twenty (20) votes were required for the motion to pass.

Angie Cardenas proceeded with the election for Parliamentarian. Each nominee was allowed up to one minute to provide a speech beginning at 3:36 p.m. Following the speeches, members voted, and the results are as follows:

Name of Candidate	# of Votes
1. Cecilio Lopez	21
2. Orlando Rios	12
3. Deyanira Hooper	2
4. Jeannette Godina	4

<u>Cecilio Lopez</u> was elected as Parliamentarian of the DELAC.

The floor was opened for nominations for Public Relations Officer at 3:44 p.m. The following member(s) were nominated:

Carlos Valadez, nominated by Merquisedet Absalon
Deyanira Hooper, nominated by Angelica Sanchez

Juanita Garcia, nominated by Irma Lopez
Nomination Accepted
Nomination Accepted
Nomination Accepted
Nomination Accepted
Nomination Accepted
Nomination Accepted

<u>Angie Cardenas</u> asked three (3) times if there are any other nominees, then asked the members for a consensus to close the nominations and accept the list of nominees. The members unanimously agreed by consensus to close the nominations and accept the list of nominees.

Each nominee was allowed up to one minute to provide a speech beginning at 3:47 p.m. Following the speeches, members voted, and the results are as follows:

Name of Candidate	# of Votes
1. Carlos Valadez	7
2. Deyanira Hooper	6
3. Juanita Garcia	21

Name of Candidate	# of Votes
4. Jeannette Godina	0
5. Rocio Elorza	3

Note: Jeannette Godina was experiencing technical difficulties as was not able to present her speech.

Juanita Garcia was elected as Public Relations officer of the DELAC.

Angie Cardenas officially announced the Officers representing the DELAC:

Diana Guillen, Chairperson Eduardo Covarrubias, Vice Chairperson Norma Gonzalez, Secretary Cecilio Lopez, Parliamentarian Juanita Garcia, Public Relations

Officers were congratulated and welcomed by Angie Cardenas, Dr. Danny Dixon and Antonio Plascencia.

The floor was given to Diana Guillen, Chairperson at 4:19 p.m. for comments and discussion.

The meeting closed at 4:40 p.m.